I love not working. I hate not working.

The alarm does not go off at 5:00 A.M.  I get up at 8 and have no place special to go.

I drove to work with the sun coming up and came home with the sun going down.  Now I see the sun all day.  It comes in all my windows – especially in the morning into the big eastern facing slider.

I was tired all the time and I never cleaned my house.  My house is getting a little cleaner and more organized every day.  And I’m not exhausted.

There were a couple of people at work who were real nimrods.  But as for the other 99.9% – I miss you my work buddies like crazy.

I was listening to a really good audio book in my car.  It’s been a week and I still don’t know how it ends.

My desk at home is getting very, very neat.  My former desk at work is also very neat.  Unfortunately when no one works there, that’s the way it is.

I was getting a pay check every other Friday.  Now I’m worried about money and also wish that if I had to be out of work, it was the summer.

But do let me tell you things I like a lot.

Since the alarm is not going off at 5, I can do one of my favorite things in the world.  Read in bed as late as I want – 2:00 or even 3:00.  Until I cannot keep my eyes open for one more minute.  It’s good!

I have lots of time with my most precious boy Mike Dog Bunn every day.  All I have to do is touch the phone, and like a bad child, he throws every toy he owns into my lap in hopes one with be the magic one that causes me to hang up and play with him.  And sometimes when I don’t hang up, he bays at me like a hound.  He’s a 65 pound poodle for goodness sake!  Shouldn’t he have a little dignity?

I have tons of time to play on the internet, read books, watch movies.  I have had dinner with my friends.  I have had lunch with friends.  And they all took pity on me and paid too.  Smiling.  My clothes and laundry are clean and put away.  My house is almost all clean.  I’ve spend a long time on the phone with Comcast Signature Support and my desktop computer (the one that has the Microsoft Suite, my resumes, references, and is hooked to a printer) is working again.  I have plenty of time to do volunteer stuff.  Been at BARC three times including today.  Start working with my Literacy Volunteer students on Thursday.  I can’t wait!  I’m well-rested and relaxed.

I’m sure some day I’ll be back at it again.  And I’ll like it too.  But in the meantime, I’m going to try to enjoy my time off.  And buy Powerball tickets.

7 thoughts on “I love not working. I hate not working.

  1. I couldn’t have said it better myself. (really couldn’t). I finally forced myself to put down my book and go to sleep at 2:30am. Enjoy while you can…

    • I know. It’s emotional schizophrenia. It’s good. It’s bad. I watched a movie until 1:45 last night and then read until just about 2:30 myself. I wish I had some extra cash. I’d drive to Florida with my dog and we could get a winter tan.

      • Would LOVE to have you both!! It will be 80 and sunny for the rest of the week. NO ONE is ever at my pool. It would be great!!!

        Needing money sucks!

      • Colleen. It was my first thought. I was sitting in the room and they were laying me off and I was thinking, how can I go to Florida. Just for a month. Just a little time in the sun. I’m still thinking about it. Never say die. Until they throw me in the street. And it’s just me and Mikey. I’d rather be thrown in Florida. Laughing.

      • LOL. Come on down, you are both always welcome. Hey, you may will that Powerball and could buy a place. Now THAT would be fun!!!

Leave a Reply

