The sky was pink tonight

Tonight when I left work, the western sky was pink with yellow streaks.  It was not dark outside.

From The American Academy of Family Physicians – “It’s a fact:  Your risk of clinical depression is three times higher right now than at any other time of the year!  And the hormone shortfalls behind the cold-weather blues are linked to a host of other health hassles, including headaches, back pain, achy joints, fatigue and more.”

Yup.  That about sums it up.

Oh Summer how I miss you.  When people say you are humid and hot, I agree right away.  I love that about you.  I look at you and I am happy.  I love how you make me feel.  Your warmth surrounds me.  Your moist air touches my skin.  Your arms hold me in a sensual embrace.  I love to wake up on a Sunday morning and make a cup of coffee and get the paper off the front steps.  Then out to the deck with my puzzle and pencil and dog to be with you and the sun rising up on a sharp angle toward noon.  I love to sit with you at the end of the day.  After work, in my shorts and flip-flops and tank top and sunglasses.  I like to look at my bare feet with their shiny bright pink toenails.  The feeling of your partner Sun going into my skin.  The pool.  The lake.  “They” say Sun is not good for me.  I do care about that but the feeling he gives to me is worth a little risk.  A small treat now and then.  Sitting in Maine in the front yard.  The comfy padded lawn chair and the novel and the sudoku and the crosswords.  Looking up at the boats going by.  A cruise around the pond in the afternoon.  Floating on the blow-up rafts or bobbing around on the noodles.  The only good thing about heading home from Maine, for I would spend all the warm months there if I could, is heading straight south and then west and having sun company all day.  A little extra to finish up the weekend.  Hurry back Summer my friend.  I can’t wait to see you again.

2 thoughts on “The sky was pink tonight

Leave a Reply

