On Aging. The Good. The Bad. The Ugly.

Some random thoughts related to aging…

I’m not a young woman anymore.  Some of that is very good.  Some not so much.

I do exactly what I want and I don’t worry about what anyone thinks about my doing exactly what I want.  That is very good.

I don’t care if my house is a mess.  Another goody.

I hate to rush so I don’t do it anymore.  Unless you count work but that’s OK.  After all, they are giving me money to do what they want.

I worry about retiring.  I’m afraid I’ll never be able to afford it and I would do it right this minute if I could.  Not because I feel old and tired, but because there is not enough time to read when you work.  Or hang with your friends and family.  Or go to Maine and sit in your spot and read.  Or walk the dog.  Or lie on the couch and read.  Or garden.  Or sit in your lawn chair and look at your beautiful flowers and read.

Arthritis adores me and has moved in for the duration.  Oh my hands.  Heberden’s nodes.  Go ahead.  Google it.  And my poor toes – especially the big ones.  And my knees.  And my back.  My shoulders.  As my old Aunt Elsie used to say – Be it ever so painful.  Oh my achin’ bacon.  Period, dot and dash.  This falls in the not-so-good category.

Aging slooooooows your metabolism.  I have traveled up and down the scale my whole life.  And now I know in my heart of hearts that if I want to lose weight and keep it off, slow and steady wins this race.  It took me a long time to believe this.  And baby, I’m winning.  It doesn’t matter how long it takes.  As long as I arrive and stay.  My health depends on it.

I am rarely angry.  I see it like this.  If I’m aggravated by some arrogant dork at work, I figure I’m getting paid to put up with him, so I let it go as quickly as I can.  In my real life, I try to just walk away.  Inner peace is a beautiful thing and I strive for it.  I want it.  I deserve it.

Menopause had a diminishing affect on my sex drive.  But when I do “couple”, it is always very good.

Hot flashes – not good.  But I don’t have to worry about getting my period at the US Open while wearing tennis whites.

I appreciate other living things in a way I did not before.  Animals.  We have domesticated so many of them.  My dog Mike.  Sometimes I think we read each others’ minds.  I see right into his brain through those shiny big brown eyes

My hair.  It used to be thick and curly.  And now it is neither.  Is still has some body so I can manipulate it.  But its much different and there is hair in the shower every day.  But its not very gray.  One good thing.

Insomnia will come to us all.  I didn’t know this, this well-hidden curse of aging.  So you young uns out there, appreciate that good night’s sleep you just had.  The up side of that, I have never seen so many late night pitch black skies full of stars.  And the sun rises right outside my sliding glass door.  I can watch it from my writing spot here.   (And may I mention Google Sky Map for smart phones.   If you love stars and haven’t seen this yet, you’re going to be very happy about it.)

Getting older can set you free if you let it.  Really really really free.  I love that.  If aging didn’t bring you closer to death, it would be the best thing ever.

I have learned it is impossible to change anyone.  Just think how hard it is to change your own self.

Attitude is everything.  Desire is everything.  Two things I believe.

I know anything is possible.  I know the worst thing ever could happen to me in 5 minutes.

I know anything is possible.  I know the best thing ever could happen to me in 5 minutes.

I’m hopeful for my future.

6 thoughts on “On Aging. The Good. The Bad. The Ugly.

Leave a Reply

